Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Joe Alterman Georgia Sunset 2015

A solid contender for best jazz album for 2015, Joe Alterman simply kills it!

Brent Black /

In the liner notes Joe Alterman says he hopes the music brings a smile to your face...If it doesn't hang in there because your autopsy report should be back soon. Alterman is joined by an all star band made up of tenor sax titan Houston Person and finished off with a rhythm section of critically acclaimed bassist Ruben Rogers and drummer Gregory Hutchinson. Diversity is the key to success here with a amazing mix of trio, 4tet and solo piano work which allows Georgia Sunset to avoid the predictability that similar releases often find.

Clearly an old soul trapped in a young mans body, the covers here are eclectic yet highly accessible. "For Once In My Life" and "Moonlight Becomes You" are inspired works with Alterman's harmonic movement bringing to mind such legends as Bill Evans and Cedar Walton. The swing of the original "Georgia Sunset" borders on addictive while a tune that was co-written with Les McCann aptly titled "The Theme" reinforces the blatantly obvious that this is an artist as technically proficient as he is artistically gifted.

Some reviews write themselves and Georgia Sunset is no exception. This is an old school made new cool sound that will have heads turning in short order. A stellar way to kick off a new year!


01. Blue Moon
02. Other Voices
03. Hard Times
04. Georgia Sunset
05. That Sunday, That Summer
06. For Once in My Life (feat. Houston Person)
07. I'll Let You Know
08. The Theme (feat. Houston Person)
09. This Time the Dream's On Me Moonlight Becomes You (feat. Houston Person)
10. Moonlight Becomes You (feat. Houston Person)
11. Snake Eyes (feat. Houston Person)
12. How Deep Is Your Love?