Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Jennifer Knapp Set Me Free Righteous Babe Records 2014

Set Me Free
A fresh face and fresh sound for the indie folk scene, a rare find!
Brent Black / www.criticaljazz.com
Every reporter or writer worth their salt looks for a backstory whenever possible, the aptly titled Set Me Free is a somewhat intimate if not personal tale of moving away from the Christian music scene while embracing her own existence as a lesbian. With talent like this, the back story is meaningless.
Knapp maintains her persona as both a lesbian and a Christian and while many may bristle at the thought, I believe we are who we choose to be. Knapp has an enchanting voice, a gift of turning a lyrical phrase and most importantly she would seem to be fully in touch with her own artistic voice. One does not have to be immersed in the gay lifestyle to appreciate a stellar release that transcends lifestyle and instead embraces the emotive make up of all people.
Knapp has written a fascinating account of her journey:
FacingTheMusic Cover


Out now on Howard Books / Simon & Schuster, Facing the Music tells Jennifer’s story: of her troubled childhood, the love of music that pulled her through, her dramatic conversion to Christianity, her rise to stardom, her abrupt departure from Christian Contemporary Music, her years of trying to come to terms with her sexual orientation, and her return to music and Nashville in 2010, when she came out publicly for the first time. She also talks about the importance of her faith, and despite the many who claim she can no longer call herself a believer, she maintains that she is both gay and a Christian.
Pre-order from Howard Books / Simon & Schuster
Out now on Righteous Babe Records, Jennifer Knapp’s beautifully intimate new album Set Me Free puts her uncommon honesty front and center.
1. Remedy
2. Set Me Free
3. Why Wait
4. Neosho
5. What Might Have Been
6. Mercy’s Tree
7. The Tale
8. So Happy
9. The End
10. Sweet Love
11. Come Back