Monday, September 22, 2014

Smooth Jazz Cafe CLP 2014

Emmy winner Brian Tarquin leads an all star cast through a walk down the smoother side of the improvisational street!
Brent Black /
Brian Tarquin wrote all the tunes, produced and led an all star cast through a six string exploratory of the brighter side of the smooth jazz genre. Hal Lindes from Dire Straits along with Frank Gambale (Chick Corea) and of course Chuck Loeb from Fourplay and the Grammy Nominated Denny Jiosa prove that smooth jazz is still a viable radio format when placed in the hands of some perennial masters.
Six string aficionados will have plenty to cheer about as the tunes are divided relatively equally amongst this stellar lineup and the ebb and flow is one built around variety and a lush yet not overly produced sound as compared to some of their contemporaries. Breaking down original compositions can be a daunting task but with a lineup such as this, Smooth Jazz Café reviews itself!
Tracks: Zoot Suit (Chuck Loeb); Peg (Chuck Loeb); Swift Kick (Chuck Loeb); Yorkville (Chuck Loeb); The Big Sleep (Hal Lindes); On The Brick (Brian Tarquin); Hipster (Denny Jiosa); Frolic Room (Brian Tarquin); Birdbrain (Hal Lindes); Boogie Man (Brian Tarquin); Chrome Dome (Denny Jiosa); The Duchess (Brian Tarquin); Sapnish Harlem (Frank Gambale); Drugstore Cowboy (Brian Tarquin); No Wheresville (Brian Tarquin).