Monday, September 29, 2014

Popa Chubby I'm Feelin' Lucky Cleopatra 2014

Popa Chubby is full contact gorilla blues. Real, raw and racous, I'm Feelin' Lucky is stupid good!
Brent Black /
Twenty five years in the business and there are some folks that may not be hip to the real deal that is Popa Chubby. Life has not always been easy or kind to Popa Chubby but this has only added to a swagger and attitude other blues artists continue to search for but with little luck. I'm Feelin' Lucky is a bit more on the introspective tip yet the edge is there and the passion is only reinforced with guest artists Dana Fuchs on vocals and Mike Zito from the critically acclaimed Royal Southern Brotherhood.
A dynamic hybrid of a soulful urban flavor but a straight up blues flow that breathes fresh life into a genre that has been struggling since the death of Stevie Ray Vaughn. Tunes like "I'm A Pitbull" and the more dialed down "The Way It Is" showcase versatility and epitomize that Cubby is far from the stereotypical one trick pony blues man. I'm Feeling Lucky Is a crossover release with the potential to score on the blues, rock, urban and possibly adult contemporary charts. Easily his finest work in years and further proof that time is in fact a musicians best friend when he has true heart.

1. Come To Me (with Dana Fuchs)
2. One Leg At A Time
3. Three Little Words
4. Rollin’ N’ Tumblin’
5. Too Much Information
6. Rock On Bluesman (with Mike Zito)
7. I’m Feelin’ Lucky
8. Save Your Own Life
9. I’m A Pitbull (Nothing But Love)
10. The Way It Is