Saturday, February 15, 2014

Bill Nelson Getting The Holy Ghost Across Esoteric 2014

Bill Nelson was and continues to remain a lyrical visionary just slightly ahead of his time.
Brent Black /
In the late 1970's Bill Nelson was heralded as one of the finest guitarists in England. A member of the legendary British art rock pioneers Be Bop Deluxe, Nelson was unknowingly charting a lyrical course of influence for progressive rock with his technical precision on the fret board and a lyrically inventive course of imagery that continues to inspire today. Quirky, eclectic, at times experimental all fall short in attempting to place this proverbial musical square peg in a round hole. The 1986 release Getting The Holy Ghost Across" has been a rare and coveted gem among collectors and is now getting a second chance at life as a stellar reissue.
The initial reaction to a 27 year old release would be that of "dated." Not in this case as the production and mastering were then and now top drawer. Nelson blurs genre lines from a more ambient improvisational based "Suvasini" to a funky is as funky does tune "Rise Like A Fountain." Vocally, Bill Nelson could stand toe to toe with anyone making "pop" music today. Getting The Holy Ghost across is not for art rock lovers, jazz lovers or even pop music lovers. Getting The Holy Ghost across is a stellar release for music lovers!
Bill Nelson official website:
I've included a portion of the press release for additional information on what may well be the best reissue scheduled for this year. 

London, UK - ESOTERIC RECORDINGS imprint Cocteau Discs, the home of BILL NELSON’s catalogue between 1971 and 2001, continues their series of ongoing releases with the newly remastered and expanded release of his 1986 album “GETTING THE HOLY GHOST ACROSS”. Released in 1986, the record was Bill’s sole album for the Portrait label, and was a superbly realized work. Previously released on CD as strictly limited edition of 500 copies on Bill’s Sonolux label, the album is hugely sought after on CD by collectors.
This Cocteau Discs edition is expanded over two CDs to include all the material from the “LIVING FOR THE SPANGLED MOMENT” and the “WILDEST DREAMS” 12-INCH EPs, (featuring three tracks previously unreleased on CD). The reissue fully restores the original album artwork and features a new note by Bill Nelson.

CD 1:
1. Suvasini
2. Contemplation
3. Theology
4. Wildest Dreams
5. Lost in Your Mystery
6. Rise Like a Fountain
7. Age of Reason
8. The Hidden Flame
9. Because of You
10. Pansophia
CD2 (Bonus CD)
1. Wildest Dreams (Wild Mix)
Taken from the “Wildest Dreams” 12-inch EP
2. Heart and Soul
3. Living for the Spangled Moment
4. Feast of Lanterns
5. Illusions of You
6. Word for Word
7. Finks and Stooges of the Spirit
8. Nightbirds
Taken from the “Living for the Spangled Moment” 12-inch EP
9. Self Impersonation
10. Wildest Dreams (single version)
11. The Yo-Yo Dyne
Taken from the “Wildest Dreams” 12-inch EP