Saturday, January 18, 2014

Jon Lundbom & Big Five Chord Quavers! Quavers! Quavers! Quavers! Hot Cup 2011

Take everything you learned in music theory and forget it...Jon Lundbom is charting a new course for modern jazz!
Brent Black /
Post Albert Ayler meets John Scofield...or something like that. Perhaps the resounding key to success for Jon Lundbom & Big Five Chord is that they don't take themselves too seriously. It's not the Jon and the band don't care but they exhibit the rare form of musical presentation that makes it abundantly clear getting bogged down by convention simply is not their wheelhouse. I love going back catalog when I find a band that excites me and the 2011 release of Quavers! Quavers! Quavers! Quavers! may well be the harmonic ground zero for one of the most inventive yet hard to pin down bands over the last two decades.
Quavers! Quavers! Quavers! Quavers! captures the six string pyrotechnics from Lundbom while the band does an exploratory on the manipulation of meter, dynamics and improvisational fury where one is best advised to expect the unexpected. The band has remained essentially the same which is another important if not occasionally overlooked stumbling block that "similar" bands have never survived. If it ain't broke don't fix it as finding other players that could assimilate themselves into this lineup without missing a beat in lyrical synergy would be a daunting task at best.
The sonic road less traveled with musical risks that consistently pay huge dividends. A spirited bunch with the type of resilience to withstand whatever the music business can toss their way. This is post modern jazz on steroids. No bullshit. An all star band well on it's way to charting an incredibly successful path for others to follow. Quavers! Quavers! Quavers! Quavers! is an absolute must for any library!

Tracks: On Jacation; The Bravest Little Pilot #2; Ears Like A Fox; Meat Without Feet; New Feats Of Horsemanship; Faith-Based Initiative.

Personnel: Jon Lundbom: Guitar; Jon Irabagon: Alto and Sopranino Saxophones; Bryan Murray: Tenor and Balto Saxophones; Moppa Elliot: Bass; Danny Fischer: Drums; Matt Kanelos: Keyboards

Track Listing: On Jacation; The Bravest Little Pilot No. 2; Ears Like a Fox; Meat Without Feet; New Feats of Horsemanship; Faith-Based Initiative.
Personnel: Jon Lundbom: guitar; Jon Irabagon: alto and sopranino saxophones; Bryan Murray: tenor and alto saxophones; Moppa Elliott: bass; Danny Fischer: drums; Matt Kanelos: keyboards.