Thursday, October 10, 2013

Idan Santhaus There You Are Posi-Tone 2013

There You Are

Idan Santhaus and There You Are finds that harmonic sweet spot between big band and jazz orchestra with a delightful organic twist!
Brent Black /

Perhaps the most intriguing large ensemble release for the year, Idan Santhaus brings together the very finest New York has to offer and turns jazz orchestra upside down. Deconstructed jazz orchestra, a sixteen piece large ensemble that swings as tight as any 4tet but allows plenty of room for the virtuoso talent to showcase their individual voices. Normally with an orchestral spin of this nature you find the usual suspects including some Gil Evans and Oliver Nelson covers, nice but not necessary.

Idan Santhaus makes an incredibly bold artistic statement as not only a prolific composer but arranger and conductor. This sixteen piece orchestra is unabashedly straight ahead while remaining lyrically accessible to a myriad of tastes. Some of the amazing talent included on this release include Dan Willis, Michael Dease, Roy Assaf and Deanna Witkowski. There You Are is divided up into two separate sessions with the output literally interchangeable. There is an ebb and flow of subtle nuances and textures, colorful shadings and shifting meters come alive under the baton of Santhaus. Electric chemistry in an intimate acoustic setting. 

Traditional jazz orchestra is tired, predictable and somewhat played out. Idan Santhaus is one of a very small number of artists that is now pushing this music forward again and to a wider audience. An absolutely mesmerising performance!

Tracks: After All; Tempo Rarely; There You Are; Now I Feel Like It, Now I Don't; Purple And Yellow; A Place I Know; Change Of Season; High Maintenance; Nothing Yet?!
Personnel: Ben Kono: Alto Sax, Soprano Sax, Flute, Clarinet; David Dejesus: Alto Sax, Soprano Sax, Flute, Clarinet; Dan Willis: Tenor Sax, Flute, Clarinet; Matt Garrison: Tenor Sax, Flute, Clarinet; Frank Basile: Baritone Sax, Bass Clarinet; Jon Owens: Trumpet, Flugelhorn (Lead); Max Darche: Trumpet, Flugelhorn; Bruce Harris: Trumpet, Flugelhorn; James O'Connor: Trumpet, Flugelhorn; Michael Dease: Trombone (Lead); James Hirschfeld: Trombone; Brent Chiarello: Trombone; Mike Christianson: Bass Trombone; Deanna Witkowski: Piano; Todd Coolman: Bass; John Riley: Drums; Idan Santhaus: Flute (3); Jon Gordon: Alto Sax, Soprano Sax, Flute; Mark Small: Tenor Sax, Flute, Clarinet; Seneca Black: Trumpet, Flugelhorn (Lead); John Replogle: Trumpet, Flugelhorn; Thomas Barber: Trumpet, Flugelhorn; Andy Hunter: Trombone; Andrew Synowiec: Guitar (1); Roy Assaf: Piano.